Wiki source code of Configure a system
Last modified by Martijn Woudstra on 2023/04/13 15:33
Show last authors
| author | version | line-number | content |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | {{container}}{{container layoutStyle="columns"}}((( | ||
| 2 | In this microlearning, we will focus on learning how to configure a system. | ||
| 3 | Configuring a system is the first step in designing an integration within eMagiz | ||
| 4 | |||
| 5 | Should you have any questions, please contact [[academy@emagiz.com>>mailto:academy@emagiz.com]]. | ||
| 6 | |||
| 7 | == 1. Prerequisites == | ||
| 8 | |||
| 9 | * Basic knowledge of the eMagiz platform | ||
| 10 | |||
| 11 | == 2. Key concepts == | ||
| 12 | |||
| 13 | This microlearning centers around configuring a system. | ||
| 14 | With configuration we mean: Adding, Editing, and/or Deleting a system | ||
| 15 | With system we mean: An application that will exchange data between itself and others (via eMagiz) | ||
| 16 | |||
| 17 | To configure a system you need the following: | ||
| 18 | |||
| 19 | * The name of the system | ||
| 20 | * Basic information about the system | ||
| 21 | |||
| 22 | == 3. Configure a system == | ||
| 23 | |||
| 24 | As specified before with configure we mean adding, editing, and/or deleting a system. Below we will detail per action what you should do. | ||
| 25 | |||
| 26 | === 3.1 Adding a system === | ||
| 27 | |||
| 28 | To add a system simply click on the system icon (regular or multi-tenant) located on the top left corner of your screen. | ||
| 29 | |||
| 30 | [[image:Main.Images.Microlearning.WebHome@crashcourse-platform-capture-configure-a-system--drag-system-on-canvas-start.png]] | ||
| 31 | |||
| 32 | [[image:Main.Images.Microlearning.WebHome@crashcourse-platform-capture-configure-a-system--drag-system-on-canvas.png]] | ||
| 33 | |||
| 34 | After you have released the system in the correct place you will immediately be presented with the following pop-up. In this pop-up fill in the following elements: | ||
| 35 | |||
| 36 | * Name | ||
| 37 | * Description | ||
| 38 | * Default Integration Pattern | ||
| 39 | * Hosting | ||
| 40 | |||
| 41 | When you fill in these elements you have registered the relevant meta-information for yourself and others to relate to the system in question | ||
| 42 | |||
| 43 | [[image:Main.Images.Microlearning.WebHome@crashcourse-platform-capture-configure-a-system--fill-in-system-details.png]] | ||
| 44 | |||
| 45 | If you are satisfied with your work you can update the status and press Save. | ||
| 46 | |||
| 47 | === 3.2 Editing a system === | ||
| 48 | |||
| 49 | To edit a system you simply double click on the system (or edit it via the context menu). After you have done so you can edit the system via the same pop-up as when you create a new system. | ||
| 50 | |||
| 51 | For example, you could change the Status to Done or add a Remark. Editing a system can be done without impact at any given moment as you only edit descriptive fields. | ||
| 52 | |||
| 53 | [[image:Main.Images.Microlearning.WebHome@crashcourse-platform-capture-configure-a-system--edit-system-details.png]] | ||
| 54 | |||
| 55 | === 3.3 Deleting a system === | ||
| 56 | |||
| 57 | Adding a system is the starting point of your integration. Both editing and deleting a system can happen at any given moment. | ||
| 58 | Although editing a system has no impact regardless of the state of the system in subsequent phases of the ILM the same does not apply for deleting a system. | ||
| 59 | |||
| 60 | When a system has been transferred to Create you cannot delete the system anymore in Capture without removing it first from Create. | ||
| 61 | This is done to prevent situations that could be disastrous (i.e removing something that is still running on Production). | ||
| 62 | |||
| 63 | The specifics of those situations will be discussed in a separate microlearning. For now, we will keep it simple and focus on deleting a system while it is still in Capture and Design. | ||
| 64 | |||
| 65 | To delete a system in such a scenario you can simply open the context menu and press Delete system and press OK on the confirmation pop-up. | ||
| 66 | |||
| 67 | [[image:Main.Images.Microlearning.WebHome@crashcourse-platform-capture-configure-a-system--delete-a-system.png]] | ||
| 68 | |||
| 69 | == 4. Key takeaways == | ||
| 70 | |||
| 71 | * Adding a system is the starting point of building an integration via eMagiz | ||
| 72 | * Editing system information can be done at any given time without impact on other ILM phases | ||
| 73 | * Deleting a system can only be done (without special steps in preparation) when the system has **not** yet been transferred to Create or has been untransferred from Create. | ||
| 74 | |||
| 75 | == 5. Suggested Additional Readings == | ||
| 76 | |||
| 77 | If you are interested in this topic and want more information on it please read the help text provided by eMagiz. | ||
| 78 | |||
| 79 | )))((({{toc/}}))){{/container}}{{/container}} |